Replicate alternative for video generation: when Makernice fits
Competitor prices checked October 22, 2026 from Replicate's public pricing; they change often.
Prices as of October 22, 2026 (price list v5).
As a Replicate alternative for video generation, Makernice fits teams that only call closed video models such as Seedance, Kling 3.0, Wan 3.0 and MiniMax H3: a fixed 16-model menu, per-second prices and a quote locked for 12 minutes before every run. Keep Replicate for custom, community or fine-tuned models. Prices go both ways; see the dated table.
Replicate facts from replicate.com/pricing and replicate.com/docs, checked October 22, 2026.
Which Replicate video models are also on Makernice?
| On Replicate | On Makernice | Model page |
|---|---|---|
bytedance/seedance-2.5 | seedance-2.5 | Seedance 2.5 |
bytedance/seedance-2.0 | seedance-2.0 | Seedance 2.0 |
bytedance/seedance-2.0-fast | seedance-2.0-fast | Seedance 2.0 Fast |
kwaivgi/kling-v3-video (standard = 720p, pro = 1080p, plus 4K) | kling-3.0-standard, kling-3.0-pro, kling-3.0-4k | Kling 3.0 Standard |
minimax/h3 | minimax-h3 | MiniMax H3 |
alibaba/happyhorse-1.1 | happy-horse-1.1 | Happy Horse 1.1 |
alibaba/wan-3 | wan-3.0 | Wan 3.0 |
Makernice also serves Wan 3.0 Prime, MiniMax H3 Max and H3 Max Turbo, and four image models. Full list: all 16 models.
Per-second price, model by model
USD per second of output. Makernice: price list v5 (as of October 22, 2026). Replicate: each model's page on replicate.com, October 22, 2026. Competitor prices checked October 22, 2026 from Replicate's public pricing; they change often.
| Model · resolution | Makernice $/s | Replicate $/s | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seedance 2.5 · 480p / 720p | $0.1152 / $0.2592 | 0.1028 / 0.2312 | Replicate lower. Replicate prices without video input; with video input $0.4304 / $0.9676. Makernice also offers 1080p ($0.4618) and 4K ($1.955) |
| Seedance 2.0 · 720p / 1080p | $0.1704 / $0.4252 | 0.18 / 0.45 | Replicate prices without video input; with video input $0.22 / $0.55. Replicate also has 480p ($0.08) and 4K ($1.00), which Makernice doesn't |
| Seedance 2.0 Fast · 720p | $0.1027 | 0.15 | Replicate prices without video input; with video input $0.17. Replicate also has 480p ($0.07) |
| Kling 3.0 Standard · 720p, with audio | $0.1209 | 0.252 | Makernice Kling always includes audio. Replicate without audio: $0.168 |
| Kling 3.0 Pro · 1080p, with audio | $0.1612 | 0.336 | Replicate without audio: $0.224 |
| Kling 3.0 4K | $0.5142 | 0.42 | Replicate lower |
| MiniMax H3 · 768p / 2K | $0.072 / $0.156 | 0.08 / 0.13 | Mixed: Makernice lower at 768p, Replicate lower at 2K |
| Happy Horse 1.1 · 720p / 1080p | $0.168 / $0.216 | 0.14 / 0.18 | Replicate lower |
| Wan 3.0 · 480p / 720p / 1080p | $0.0394 / $0.0789 / $0.1578 | 0.05 / 0.10 / 0.20 (checked 2026-10-22, no promo listed) | Makernice lower at every resolution |
Makernice prices are per second of requested duration, the same in every mode, 4-decimal truncation; live at GET https://api.makernice.com/v1/pricing. Makernice's Seedance models don't take a video input, so compare against Replicate's no-video-input prices. Sources per row (checked October 22, 2026): seedance-2.5, seedance-2.0, seedance-2.0-fast, kling-v3-video, h3, happyhorse-1.1, wan-3.
Replicate costs less per second for Seedance 2.5 at 480p and 720p, Kling 3.0 4K, MiniMax H3 at 2K, and Happy Horse 1.1. Makernice costs less for Seedance 2.0 and 2.0 Fast, Kling 3.0 Standard and Pro with audio, MiniMax H3 at 768p, and Wan 3.0. If your volume sits in the rows where Replicate is lower, Replicate is the better deal on price. Run your mix through the cost calculator and hold it against your Replicate bill.
Billing differences: hardware time vs per output second, failures, cancellations
| Makernice | Replicate (from Replicate's docs, checked October 22, 2026) | |
|---|---|---|
| Billing unit | Per second of output, by model and resolution (images per request) | "Some models are billed by hardware and time, others by input and output." The official video models above list a per-second price |
| Price before the run | A quote for every generation, locked for 12 minutes; full list public at GET /v1/pricing | Per-model prices on each model page. A locked pre-run quote: not stated in Replicate docs (checked October 22, 2026) |
| Failed run | Not charged; the hold is released | "For all models, if a run fails, we don't charge you" |
| Cancel | Only queued jobs can be canceled; the held amount is released in full. Once generation starts, a job can't be canceled (409 not_cancelable) and runs to its normal outcome: charged if it succeeds, released in full with no charge if it fails or times out | Official models: "you may still be charged." Time-billed models: charged for the time the run used up to the cancel |
| Private models / deployments | Not offered | Most private models pay setup + idle + active time; failed and canceled runs are billed for active time |
| Finished output blocked by output moderation | Charged. No file delivered; support can review it | Not stated in the Replicate docs we read (checked October 22, 2026) |
| Output files | Each output shows its expiry (expiresAt); in the docs example it is 30 days after the run finishes | API prediction inputs, outputs and logs are removed after one hour by default (Replicate data-retention docs, checked October 22, 2026) |
| Payment | Prepaid USD, top-ups $15–$1,000 (card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, crypto); balance never expires; no subscription, no free tier | Prepaid credit or billing in arrears |
| Fees on top | No top-up fee from Makernice; sales tax/VAT may apply at checkout depending on your location. | Not stated in the Replicate docs we read (checked October 22, 2026) |
| Custom models | No | Yes (Cog, private models, deployments) |
Full Makernice rules with examples: No charge for failed generations.
On failures the two hosts agree: neither charges for a failed run. The differences are in cancellation (Replicate may charge for a canceled official-model run; on Makernice a queued cancel is free and a running job can't be canceled), in private-model idle time, and in the one Makernice outcome that is charged without a file: a finished video blocked by output moderation.
Failed, timed-out and input-moderation-rejected runs aren't charged. Note: if a finished output is blocked by output moderation for a policy violation, the run is still charged. You can contact support for a manual review.
What you give up by leaving Replicate
- Your own models. Cog, private models and fine-tunes run on Replicate. Makernice serves 16 fixed models and can't host yours.
- Community models. Replicate's catalog runs into the thousands. If a workflow depends on one of them, keep it there.
- Extra Seedance 2.0 tiers. Replicate offers Seedance 2.0 at 480p and 4K (and 2.0 Fast at 480p). Makernice offers 2.0 at 720p and 1080p, and 2.0 Fast at 720p.
- Larger reference limits. Replicate's Seedance 2.5 accepts up to 30 reference images; Makernice exposes up to 16.
- Video input for Seedance. Replicate lists Seedance prices with video input; Makernice's Seedance models don't take one.
- Lower prices on some rows. Seedance 2.5 at 480p/720p, Kling 3.0 4K, MiniMax H3 at 2K and Happy Horse 1.1, as of October 22, 2026.
Moving a prediction to a Makernice generation
A Replicate prediction becomes three Makernice calls: quote, create, poll. Replicate field names from each model's llms.txt, checked October 22, 2026.
| Replicate | Makernice |
|---|---|
Model slug, e.g. bytedance/seedance-2.5 | "model": "seedance-2.5" plus an explicit "mode": t2v, i2v, flf or r2v |
kwaivgi/kling-v3-video with mode: standard (720p), pro (1080p) or 4k; images start_image, end_image; generate_audio true/false | Pick the model id: kling-3.0-standard, kling-3.0-pro or kling-3.0-4k (t2v only). Don't send resolution |
| Prompt input | prompt |
| Resolution input | resolution (480p, 720p, 1080p, 4k; H3: 480p, 768p, 2k, 4k) |
| Duration input | duration, whole seconds inside the model's range |
Seedance 2.5 / 2.0 / 2.0 Fast: image, last_frame_image, reference_images; MiniMax H3: first_frame_image, last_frame_image, reference_image_urls; Happy Horse 1.1: images (one = first frame, up to 9 = references); Wan 3.0: image | image_url, last_image_url, reference_images (Seedance 2.5 ≤16, Seedance 2.0 ≤9, Happy Horse 1.1 ≤9, H3 ≤5) |
| Audio on Kling (with / without) | Always included on Makernice; no field |
| Webhook | callback_url on create, or an account webhook (Webhooks) |
import os, time, uuid, requests
API = "https://api.makernice.com/v1"
H = {"Authorization": f"Bearer {os.environ['MAKERNICE_API_KEY']}"}
job = {"model": "kling-3.0-standard", "mode": "i2v",
"prompt": "The model turns toward the camera and smiles, soft studio light.",
"image_url": "https://example.com/first-frame.jpg", "duration": 5}
quote = requests.post(f"{API}/generations/quote", json=job, headers=H).json()
print(f"${int(quote['amount']) / 1e6:.2f}") # $0.60 at v5, locked for 12 minutes
gen = requests.post(f"{API}/generations", json={"quote_id": quote["id"], "input": job},
headers={**H, "Idempotency-Key": str(uuid.uuid4())}).json()
while gen["status"] not in ("succeeded", "failed", "canceled"):
time.sleep(5)
gen = requests.get(f"{API}/generations/{gen['id']}", headers=H).json()
A retry with the same Idempotency-Key returns the original generation and doesn't charge again. Guides: Video API best practices · Reference-to-video guide.
About Makernice
Makernice is an AI video and image generation API: one API key and one prepaid balance for 16 models from ByteDance, Kuaishou, MiniMax and Alibaba. Every run starts with a quote that locks the price for 12 minutes, through Makernice's own async REST API (quote, create, poll, cancel).
Frequently asked questions
What is a good Replicate alternative for AI video generation?
If you need custom or community models, stay on a host like Replicate. If you call closed video models such as Seedance 2.5, Kling 3.0, Wan 3.0 or MiniMax H3, Makernice puts 12 video and 4 image models behind one key with per-second prices.
Is Makernice cheaper than Replicate for Seedance 2.5?
Not at 480p and 720p. On October 22, 2026, Replicate listed $0.1028 and $0.2312 per second (without video input) against Makernice's $0.1152 and $0.2592. Makernice adds 1080p and 4K tiers.
Does Replicate charge for failed runs?
Replicate's billing docs say failed runs aren't charged, but canceling a run on an official model may still be charged. On Makernice, failed runs aren't charged. Note: if a finished output is blocked by output moderation for a policy violation, the run is still charged. You can contact support for a manual review.
Can I run my own model on Makernice?
No. Makernice serves a fixed set of 16 hosted models. Use Replicate (Cog) or another GPU host for custom models.
How do I get a price before a video runs?
Request a quote for the model, mode, resolution and duration. The price is locked for 12 minutes, and the full price list is public at GET /v1/pricing.
Related
- All 16 models · Seedance 2.5 · Seedance 2.0 · Kling 3.0 Standard · Happy Horse 1.1 · MiniMax H3
- Billing: No charge for failed generations
- Build: Video API best practices · Reference-to-video guide
- Other alternatives: OpenRouter alternative · WaveSpeed alternative · Atlas Cloud alternative · Higgsfield API alternative
- Cost: AI video cost calculator
Product and company names on this page are trademarks of their respective owners. Makernice is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by them.
Price your Replicate video workload on Makernice.
Prepaid in US dollars by card (including Apple Pay and Google Pay) or crypto, $15 to $1,000 per top-up; the balance never expires. Failed runs aren't charged. Note: if a finished output is blocked by output moderation for a policy violation, the run is still charged. You can contact support for a manual review. No top-up fee from Makernice; sales tax/VAT may apply at checkout depending on your location.